The updated lens is eligible for the a9 III’s highest AF/AE burst tier, with settings and aperture limits.
- Connection
- Direct mount
- What was checked
- Stills with the exact native lens; continuous autofocus, burst settings, and the explicitly listed feature limits.
- Sources checked
The next source check for this pair is overdue. Next source check due .
Physical connection
SupportedSony lists this exact camera and lens as a compatible native pairing.
- Lens attached directly; no adapter or teleconverter.
Continuous shooting
LimitedSony documents eligibility for up to 120 fps with AF/AE tracking.
- Apply the linked high-speed rule; this is a conditional maximum.
Autofocus
LimitedAbove f/22, Standard or Silent Priority aperture drive locks burst focus at the first frame. Focus Priority also locks it above f/22 at 60 or 120 fps.
- AF-C continuous shooting; stop-down limit is relevant to this f/32–36-capable lens.
Firmware conditions
LimitedVersion 04 includes the high-speed benefit as an earlier improvement; its original enabling version is not established here.
- Check the installed lens version. The cited card updater is restricted to another body; use Sony’s applicable update route.
Not covered by the sources
- The first SEL200600G version enabling 120 fps was not established from an opened historical release.
- No moving-subject hit-rate, sustained-burst, or teleconverter performance test was performed.
Sources and review notes
Firmware in scope: camera not stated, lens 04 documented; original high-speed minimum not established, adapter not stated. “Not stated” means the documents do not give a version range. It does not mean every version works.
Researched 2026-09-07 by an AI research agent reading the documents below, then source-checked 2026-09-07. Nobody has tested this pair by hand. How the research works
- ILCE-9M3 + SEL200600G: exact compatibility result — Exact pair heading and native/direct-mount compatibility icon. Direct HTTPS read succeeded. Establishes named compatible pairing, not a claim that every setting reaches headline performance. Accessed 2026-09-07.
- a9 III: continuous shooting speed and AF/AE tracking — 120 images/second compatible-lens table; footnotes 1–7; settings example. Exact SEL200600G and SEL2470GM2 eligibility; update flag; conditional maximum and exposure rules. Accessed 2026-09-07.
- SEL200600G firmware 04: benefits and previous improvements — Benefits and Improvements; Previous Benefits and Improvements; File Info; Notice Before Updating. Version 04 retains a9 III high-speed and a7R V stabilization benefits. The listed card updater is not an installation route for either researched body. Accessed 2026-09-07.
- a9 III Help Guide: Cont. Shooting — Setting details; Hint; Note. Current online guide scope, with aperture-drive and focus-lock conditions. No camera version number established. Accessed 2026-09-07.
- SEL200600G specifications — Lens Specifications: minimum aperture, SteadyShot, mount. Lens can stop down to f/32–36; optical stabilization specified. Accessed 2026-09-07.
Related rules: a9 III high-speed shooting with the two reviewed zooms →