A native full-frame constant-f/4 zoom with a documented body-VR measurement and a lens firmware update affecting aperture operation.
- Connection
- Direct mount
- What was checked
- Native FX stills, autofocus availability, aperture and manufacturer stabilization measurement. Body guide scope is 2.00; lens 1.20 is specifically the aperture-update claim.
- Sources checked
The next source check for this pair is overdue. Next source check due .
Physical connection
SupportedThe NIKKOR Z zoom mounts directly to the Z6III.
- No adapter or converter is included.
Sensor coverage & crop
SupportedThe full-frame lens covers the native FX image area; Large FX stills are 6048 × 4032 pixels.
- Select FX (36×24) and Large image size.
- Other image areas have different output dimensions.
Autofocus
SupportedThe lens provides stepping-motor autofocus on the compatible Z-mount body.
- Use a camera autofocus mode.
- This confirms AF availability, not a measured tracking success rate or low-light limit for this pair.
Aperture control
SupportedMaximum aperture remains f/4 across 24–120mm; the minimum aperture is f/22.
- Native lens without converter.
Stabilization
SupportedNikon reports up to 8.0 stops from the Z6III’s built-in five-axis stabilization with this exact lens.
- Manufacturer CIPA measurement: 120mm telephoto end, Normal VR, as stated in the June 17, 2024 announcement.
- This is a manufacturer rating, not a ShutterLens test or a guarantee at every focal length.
Firmware conditions
SupportedLens firmware 1.20 improves aperture-operation reliability and reduces aperture noise according to Nikon.
- This claim is the documented 1.10-to-1.20 lens update, not proof that basic mounting requires 1.20.
- Nikon permits the update using Z-series cameras; follow the exact lens instructions.
- The body reference guide used here describes 2.00, not the first supported camera firmware.
Not covered by the sources
- Minimum firmware for basic pairing, exact burst/AF limits, focus-point-VR eligibility and video stabilization performance were not established.
- No manufacturer claim that aperture noise is eliminated is made.
Sources and review notes
Firmware in scope: camera 2.00 (reference-guide scope; not an introduction version), lens 1.20 (aperture-update claim only), adapter not stated. “Not stated” means the documents do not give a version range. It does not mean every version works.
Researched 2026-09-07 by an AI research agent reading the documents below, then source-checked 2026-09-07. Nobody has tested this pair by hand. How the research works
- Z6III Reference Guide — specifications — Lens; Image sensor; Storage; Autofocus; Vibration reduction. Z-lens eligibility, FX output and five-axis sensor-shift VR. Accessed 2026-09-07.
- NIKKOR Z 24–120mm f/4 S — Nikon specifications — Overview; Specifications. Full-frame Z lens, stepping-motor AF and constant f/4 aperture; no exact AF speed or tracking success claim. Accessed 2026-09-07.
- Nikon Z6III announcement — stabilization measurement — Key features, 8.0-stop VR bullet; footnote 6. June 17, 2024 manufacturer CIPA result at the telephoto end of the exact 24–120mm lens in Normal VR. Accessed 2026-09-07.
- NIKKOR Z 24–120mm f/4 S firmware 1.20 — Changes from 1.10 to 1.20; Compatible Cameras; Product Description. Aperture reliability and noise changes; update applies to this exact lens. The historical 1.10 body list is dated April 2022. Accessed 2026-09-07.
- Z6III Reference Guide — document version — Home, firmware statement below search. Accessed guide is scoped to camera firmware 2.00; not a minimum-version claim. Accessed 2026-09-07.