RF-S 10-18mm F4.5-6.3 IS STM mounts natively; crop and focus claims below retain separate manufacturer evidence and limits.
- Connection
- Direct mount
- What was checked
- Ordinary stills: attachment, forced crop/output/menu, AF area, MF, Program AE aperture control, and focus-bracketing list membership.
- Sources checked
The next source check for this pair is overdue. Next source check due .
Physical connection
SupportedAttaches directly to the R5 RF mount as a Canon RF-S lens.
- Exact model: RF-S 10-18mm F4.5-6.3 IS STM
- No additional converter or extension tube.
Sensor coverage & crop
LimitedForced 1.6x, 3:2 stills; Large or RAW/C-RAW records 17.3 MP (5088×3392).
- Apply EOS R5 automatically crops supported RF-S and adapted EF-S stills, including quality-menu exceptions.
Autofocus
LimitedCanon lists this exact lens with R5 AF area approximately 80% horizontal × 80% vertical.
- May 2026 compatibility table; EOS R5 column.
- Select AF; native attachment.
Manual focus
SupportedManual focus is available; Canon specifies a 0.086 m MF close-focus limit and maximum 0.5× MF magnification.
- Select MF.
- Lens-level maxima; retrieved specification does not give their zoom-position conditions.
Aperture control
SupportedR5 Program AE automatically selects shutter speed and aperture; this is a camera operating rule, not measured exposure accuracy.
- P still-photo mode; documented lens attachment.
- Check exposure display for blinking exposure-limit warnings.
Focus aids
SupportedCanon names this exact lens as compatible with EOS R5 focus bracketing.
- Enable focus bracketing; AF mode; tripod stills; no flash.
- May 2026 compatibility list; native RF attachment.
Not covered by the sources
- No hardware testing; autofocus accuracy, tracking consistency, and burst rates were not measured.
- R5-specific combined lens IS/IBIS performance and video-mode restrictions were not established.
- Program AE documentation does not verify lens-specific metering accuracy, E-TTL flash behavior, or every exposure mode.
- Minimum firmware introducing this compatibility and lens/adapter firmware versions remain unspecified.
- Canon UK page metadata mislabels the RF-S maximum aperture; exact identity checked against Canon compatibility matrices. Zoom positions for its listed MF maxima need the lens manual.
Sources and review notes
Firmware in scope: camera 2.2.0 or later (current manual scope, not minimum introduction version), lens not stated, adapter not stated. “Not stated” means the documents do not give a version range. It does not mean every version works.
Researched 2026-09-07 by an AI research agent reading the documents below, then source-checked 2026-09-07. Nobody has tested this pair by hand. How the research works
- RF-S 10-18mm F4.5-6.3 IS STM — Specifications — Optical Features; Image Size; Closest Focusing Distance; Maximum Magnification; AF Actuator. Page metadata incorrectly says F4.5-5.6; exact F4.5-6.3 identity is independently confirmed in Canon AF/bracketing matrices. APS-C lens; separate AF/MF close-up values. Accessed 2026-09-07.
- EOS R5 — Attaching/Detaching RF Lenses — D090-018; Attaching a Lens steps 2–3. Native attachment and AF/MF selection, including camera-menu selection for lenses without a focus switch. Accessed 2026-09-07.
- AF Area, by Lens — H001-012; May 2026; EOS R5 column in RF and EF-S tables, five exact lens rows. Each exact row reports approximately 80% horizontal by 80% vertical. This is an AF-area statement, not measured tracking performance or an all-mode guarantee. Accessed 2026-09-07.
- EOS R5 — Still Photo Cropping/Aspect Ratio — D090-039; step 2, both Caution sections. Forced still-image area, quality-menu changes, and actual RAW crop; no movie-mode inference. Accessed 2026-09-07.
- EOS R5 — Specifications — D090-215; Type; Still photo pixel count table, 1.6x column. Pixel counts depend on image quality. Large and RAW/C-RAW are 5088×3392; Small2 is 2400×1600. Accessed 2026-09-07.
- EOS R5 — Manual Focus — D090-102; steps 1–4 and Note. MF selection and focus ring with magnified display. Exposure locks in magnified view. Peaking and focus-guide exceptions are separate. Accessed 2026-09-07.
- EOS R5 — P: Program AE — D090-029; opening paragraph; steps 1–3; Caution. Body-level automatic shutter/aperture setting in P mode. Does not constitute individual lens exposure accuracy testing or flash-metering validation. Accessed 2026-09-07.
- Lenses and Flash Units Compatible with Focus Bracketing — H001-002; May 2026; camera list and RF/EF lens lists. R5 is in scope. All three RF-S models and EF-S18-135 IS USM are named; EF-S10-18 is absent, without an explicit prohibition. Accessed 2026-09-07.
- EOS R5 — Focus Bracketing — D090-061; steps 2–6; Caution. Bracketing configuration and limits: tripod stills, AF enabled, no flash; compositing uses compatible software. Accessed 2026-09-07.
Related rules: EOS R5 automatically crops supported RF-S and adapted EF-S stills →