Native APS-C ultra-wide pairing with separate viewfinder and Live View AF choices, camera aperture control and switch-enabled optical IS.
- Connection
- Direct mount
- What was checked
- Direct-mounted still photography; viewfinder versus Live View AF, aperture and exposure controls, format and applicable lens switches. No movie, extender or measured-performance findings.
- Sources checked
The next source check for this pair is overdue. Next source check due .
Physical connection
SupportedThe named lens mounts directly on this body.
- Exact unmodified Canon models; no accessories in the optical path.
Sensor coverage & crop
SupportedCovers the 90D format; Canon gives approximately 16–29mm equivalent framing.
- Native lens; 90D APS-C image area; 3:2 still framing.
- Equivalent focal length describes framing, not a change in the lens focal length.
Autofocus
SupportedViewfinder shooting offers One-Shot, AI Focus and AI Servo AF; Creative Zone Live View offers One-Shot or Servo AF.
- Lens switch AF; camera in a Creative Zone mode; cited 90D firmware scope.
- This establishes AF operation choices, not tracking success or a lens-specific AF-point count.
Aperture control
SupportedSet aperture on the camera; maximum aperture changes from f/4.5 to f/5.6 across the zoom.
- Av or M stills; aperture choices depend on zoom position.
Exposure metering
SupportedSpot metering covers about 2.0% centrally through the viewfinder and 2.6% in Live View.
- Creative Zone stills; select Spot metering.
Stabilization
SupportedOptical IS works in AF or MF; half-press activates it.
- Lens STABILIZER ON; allow the viewfinder image to settle before release.
- No 90D-specific stop rating is established.
Not covered by the sources
- Exact usable viewfinder AF-point pattern and corner AF behavior were not established.
- Electronic manual focusing needs camera power; post-One-Shot adjustment also requires the 90D Lens electronic MF setting to be enabled and the shutter held halfway (lens ENG-6; body p.266).
- No movie autofocus or stabilization-performance claim is made.
Sources and review notes
Firmware in scope: camera 1.1.0 or later (cited guide scope), lens not stated, adapter not stated. “Not stated” means the documents do not give a version range. It does not mean every version works.
Researched 2026-09-07 by an AI research agent reading the documents below, then source-checked 2026-09-07. Nobody has tested this pair by hand. How the research works
- EOS 90D Advanced User Guide (eos90d-ug5-en.pdf) — Cover; printed pp. 54–55, 114–115, 124–126, 135–143, 158–159, 202–203, 266. Current download resolved from Canon India support issue 0303714001. Downloaded and text-read on the research date. The guide explicitly covers camera firmware 1.1.0 or later; that is documentary scope, not a claim that 1.1.0 first enabled ordinary lens operation. Lens-specific usable AF-point counts were not established. Accessed 2026-09-07.
- EF-S10-18mm f/4.5-5.6 IS STM Instructions — Printed ENG-1, ENG-6, ENG-8, ENG-11; PDF pp. 2, 7, 9, 12. Exact STM lens manual downloaded through Canon Taiwan support issue 0301542501. Its old camera list is dated March 2014; the later 90D body manual supplies EF-S acceptance. The four-stop IS figure uses EOS 7D, not 90D, and is not transferred here. Accessed 2026-09-07.
Related rules: Native EF and EF-S mounting on these Canon DSLRs →