Native full-frame telephoto zoom with optical IS modes for still subjects and panning. Exact usable viewfinder AF-point coverage remains unresolved.
- Connection
- Direct mount
- What was checked
- Direct-mounted still photography; viewfinder versus Live View AF, aperture and exposure controls, format and applicable lens switches. No movie, extender or measured-performance findings.
- Sources checked
The next source check for this pair is overdue. Next source check due .
Physical connection
SupportedThe named lens mounts directly on this body.
- Exact unmodified Canon models; no accessories in the optical path.
Sensor coverage & crop
SupportedThe EF telephoto uses the 5D IV full-frame still format.
- Direct lens; 3:2 still capture; no extender or digital crop.
Autofocus
LimitedThe lens supports AF and the body has distinct viewfinder and Live View AF operations; its exact usable viewfinder AF-point count was not verified.
- Lens switch AF; set the limiter to 1.2m–infinity for the full focus range or 2.5m–infinity for distant subjects.
- Do not substitute the older IS II lens entry for this IS III model.
Aperture control
SupportedSet aperture on the camera from f/2.8 through f/32; maximum aperture stays f/2.8 across the zoom.
- Native lens without extender; Av or M stills.
Exposure metering
SupportedViewfinder metering includes evaluative, partial, spot and center-weighted choices; spot covers about 1.3% centrally.
- P, Tv, Av, M or Bulb stills; viewfinder shooting.
- The 1.3% figure is not asserted for Live View.
Stabilization
SupportedLens IS Mode 1 corrects shake in all directions; Mode 2 corrects across the panning direction.
- STABILIZER ON; choose Mode 1 for still subjects or Mode 2 for following shots.
- Half-press to start IS; set IS OFF for Bulb exposures, as instructed by Canon.
Not covered by the sources
- The cited 5D IV AF table omits this exact IS III lens; a newer manufacturer group designation is needed before publishing a point count.
- The lens manual recommends current camera firmware but does not identify a 5D IV version; no version-independent guarantee is made.
- No extender behavior, IS stop rating or movie AF behavior was established.
Sources and review notes
Firmware in scope: camera not stated, lens not stated, adapter not stated. “Not stated” means the documents do not give a version range. It does not mean every version works.
Researched 2026-09-07 by an AI research agent reading the documents below, then source-checked 2026-09-07. Nobody has tested this pair by hand. How the research works
- EOS 5D Mark IV (WG) Instruction Manual (eos5d-mk4-im10-en.pdf) — Printed pp. 55, 100–102, 115, 124, 248–249, 253–254, 310, 314–315, 574, 576. Downloaded and text-read. PDF page numbers are printed page plus two. EF24-70mm f/2.8L II USM is explicitly Group A. EF70-200mm f/2.8L IS III USM was not found in the table; the IS II row is not evidence for III. No camera firmware version scope was identified for these still-photo instructions. Accessed 2026-09-07.
- EF70-200mm f/2.8L IS III USM Instructions — Printed ENG-1, ENG-6–7, ENG-10–12, ENG-17; PDF pp. 2, 7–8, 11–13, 18. Exact IS III manual downloaded through Canon Asia issue 0303111301. Establishes AF/MF, focus limiter, camera-controlled aperture and IS modes 1 and 2. Recommends current camera firmware but gives no numeric prerequisite for 5D IV. Accessed 2026-09-07.
Related rules: Native EF and EF-S mounting on these Canon DSLRs →