Native full-frame zoom with camera aperture control; Canon explicitly lists this exact lens for all 61 viewfinder AF points.
- Connection
- Direct mount
- What was checked
- Direct-mounted still photography; viewfinder versus Live View AF, aperture and exposure controls, format and applicable lens switches. No movie, extender or measured-performance findings.
- Sources checked
The next source check for this pair is overdue. Next source check due .
Physical connection
SupportedThe named lens mounts directly on this body.
- Exact unmodified Canon models; no accessories in the optical path.
Sensor coverage & crop
SupportedThe 3:2 still image uses the 5D IV full-frame format.
- Direct EF lens; 3:2 stills.
- In Live View, alternate JPEG aspect ratios crop the output; RAW retains 3:2 with aspect metadata.
Autofocus
SupportedCanon explicitly permits 61 viewfinder AF points for this lens. Live View instead offers One-Shot or Servo AF.
- Lens switch AF; no extender.
- 61 points is the viewfinder table result, not a Live View point count or tracking guarantee.
- Selectable One-Shot or Servo AF for Live View stills applies in P/Tv/Av/M/B. Scene Intelligent Auto automatically uses One-Shot AF.
Aperture control
SupportedSelect f/2.8 through f/22 on the camera; the f/2.8 maximum is constant across the zoom.
- Av or M still photography; native lens.
Exposure metering
SupportedViewfinder metering includes evaluative, partial, spot and center-weighted choices; spot covers about 1.3% centrally.
- P, Tv, Av, M or Bulb stills; viewfinder shooting.
- The 1.3% figure is not asserted for Live View.
Manual focus
SupportedThe focus ring operates in either switch position; manual override is documented after One-Shot autofocus.
- For manual override, keep the shutter halfway after One-Shot AF and turn the focusing ring.
- Complete zooming before focusing.
Not covered by the sources
- The body manual does not identify a numeric firmware prerequisite for these claims; null is not an all-version guarantee.
- No optical IS absence claim is entered from the lack of an IS label or switch alone.
- Movie modes, correction-data availability and sustained tracking were not verified.
Sources and review notes
Firmware in scope: camera not stated, lens not stated, adapter not stated. “Not stated” means the documents do not give a version range. It does not mean every version works.
Researched 2026-09-07 by an AI research agent reading the documents below, then source-checked 2026-09-07. Nobody has tested this pair by hand. How the research works
- EOS 5D Mark IV (WG) Instruction Manual (eos5d-mk4-im10-en.pdf) — Printed pp. 55, 100–102, 115, 124, 248–249, 253–254, 310, 314–315, 574, 576. Downloaded and text-read. PDF page numbers are printed page plus two. EF24-70mm f/2.8L II USM is explicitly Group A. EF70-200mm f/2.8L IS III USM was not found in the table; the IS II row is not evidence for III. No camera firmware version scope was identified for these still-photo instructions. Accessed 2026-09-07.
- EF24-70mm f/2.8L II USM Instructions — Printed ENG-1, ENG-5–6, ENG-11; PDF pp. 2, 6–7, 12. Exact II model downloaded through Canon Asia issue 0300787802. Describes camera-controlled aperture, focus switch, One-Shot manual override and f/2.8 to f/22 specifications; no extender is included in this packet. Accessed 2026-09-07.
Related rules: Native EF and EF-S mounting on these Canon DSLRs →